APRIL 2017 FEATURED AUTHOR EVENTS

Tuesday Apr 25
DAVID SEDARIS AT THE VICTORIA THEATRE

David%20Sedaris.jpg

TUESDAY, APRIL 25; 7:30 PM

DAVID SEDARIS at The Victoria Theatre, Main & Second Street, downtown Dayton

Don’t miss out on An Evening with DAVID SEDARIS at The Victoria Theatre! David will be performing on stage at the theatre with his signature storytelling program, as only he can do! You’ll be laughing all through it, that’s for sure.

He will be autographing books after the show. Books&Co will have a display in the lobby so you can buy his books there.

Get your tickets at TicketCenterStage.com or call 937-228-3630.

Saturday Apr 29
GOVERNOR JOHN KASICH TO VISIT

Kasich.jpg

SATURDAY, APRIL 29; 1:30 PM

(Line numbers beginning at 12:30 pm. Please show your books&co receipt for Two
Paths
to get a line number.)

OHIO GOVERNOR JOHN KASICH
will introduce his book, Two Paths: America Divided or United. He posits that “one path exploits anger, encourages resentment, turns fear into hatred and divides people. The other path is the one America has been down before. It is well-trod. It is at times steep, but it is solid. It is the same path our forebears took together.”

John Kasich is in his second term as Ohio governor. Before that, he served nine terms as a member of the United States House of Representatives from 1982 to 2001. He has also worked for Fox News, hosting Heartland with John Kasich from 2001-2007, and was a fill-in host for The O’Reilly Factor. THOMAS DUNNE BOOKS

Tuesday May 9
CHILDREN'S AUTHOR DOREEN CRONIN TO VISIT

Doreen%20Cronin_%202.jpg

TUESDAY, MAY 9; 6:30 PM

DOREEN CRONIN will introduce her new middle grade novel, Cyclone. Cyclone is the name of a roller coaster in the world famous Coney Island amusement park. Riding it was supposed to be the highlight of Nora’s summer. And it was……..until she and her cousin Riley disembarked and Riley fell to the ground…and didn’t get up. Unbeknownst to everyone, Riley had a heart condition and even though the doctors said her heart condition didn’t have anything to do with her ride on the roller coaster, Nora can’t forgive herself for talking Riley into going on the ride with her. Now Nora is determined to help Riley recover 100%. But what Nora doesn’t realize is that the guilt will only get worse as that percentage rises. SIMON & SCHUSTER

Doreen Cronin has written several picture books for young readers: Click, Clack, Moo; Diary of a Worm; Giggle, Giggle, Quick; and others. She’s also written The Chicken Squad chapter books.

Wednesday May 10
RICHARD PAUL EVANS DEBUTS NEW NOVEL

Richard%20Paul%20Evans%202.jpg

WEDNESDAY, MAY 10; 7 PM

RICHARD PAUL EVANS will introduce, The Broken Road, the first book in his new trilogy, a contemplative story of redemption and grace. It explores the question: What if you could start over? Coming from a childhood of poverty and pain, Charles James has now achieved everything he thought he wanted: fame, fortune, and a lavish lifestyle. Why isn’t that making him happy and contented? He starts to wonder if he’s wanted the wrong things all this time. Then a twist of fate changes everything. Charles is granted something very remarkable: a second chance. What will he do with it? SIMON & SCHUSTER

Richard Paul Evans is the #1 bestselling author of The Christmas Box. Each of his more than 30 novels has been a New York Times bestseller. There are more than 30 million copies of his books in print worldwide, translated into more than 24 languages.

Saturday May 13
TIMOTHY SNYDER DISCUSSES "ON TYRANNY"

Tim%20Snyder%202.jpg

SATURDAY, MAY 13; 3 PM

TIMOTHY SNYDER, noted historian, will discuss his book, On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century. He offers citizens practical advice from our past, adapted for the world of today. He posted his 20 Lessons in a Facebook post in November 2016. It has since received more than one million views, having been reposted, republished, and retweeted countless times. His lessons have resonated with a world-wide audience. He writes that “history does not repeat, but it does instruct”—and we must heed its warnings. “The Founding Fathers tried to protect us from the threat they knew, the tyranny that overcame ancient democracy. Today, our political order faces new threats, not unlike the totalitarianism of the twentieth century.” SOURCEBOOKS

Timothy Snyder is the Housum Professor and Levin Chair of History at Yale University. He is the author of Bloodlands: Europe Between Hitler and Stalin and Black Earth: The Holocaust as History and Warning. He is a member of the Committee on Conscience of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and permanent fellow of the Institute for Human Sciences in Vienna.

Monday May 15
DAN YACCARINO DEBUTS NEW PICTURE BOOK

dan%20y.jpg

MONDAY, MAY 15; 6:30 PM

DAN YACCARINO will introduce his new children’s book, Morris Mole, which he wrote and illustrated. Morris Mole has always been a little different. That difference is a big help when the moles are running low on food. It’s up to clever Morris to save the day. With a little help from an unexpected friend and a lot of digging, Morris learns that even the smallest creatures can do big things.

School Library Journal gave the book a starred review, saying “This engaging read-aloud…encourages children to be open to accepting and exploring different points of view. It also demonstrates how teamwork can benefit everyone…a must-have for all shelves.”

His other works include Five Little Pumpkins, Trash Town, Unlovable, and The Fantastic Undersea Life of Jacques Cousteau. Visit him at www.yaccarinostudio.com. HARPER COLLINS

Tuesday May 16
CARRIE JONES DEBUTS KIDS MIDDLE GRADE NOVEL

TimeStoppers2_Quest_WEB.jpg

TUESDAY, MAY 16; 6:30 PM

CARRIE JONES, author of the kids’ middle grade novel Time Stoppers is coming to visit with its sequel, Quest for the Golden Arrow. We find that Annie is no longer a Nobody – she’s a time stopper, one of the last humans who can control time. Now she’s found a home in the enchanted town of Aurora alongside all sorts of mystical creatures, and she’s made three best friends in Eva the dwarf, Bloom the last elf, and Jamie, who might be a troll. When Annie discovers that the wicked Raiff has kidnapped her beloved new guardian, Annie must win the trust of a riddle-loving dragon and search for a magical bow and arrow to save her guardian. (Fans of Percy Jackson and The Five Kingdoms will especially enjoy this story) BLOOMSBURY KIDS

Tuesday May 23
MEGAN WHALEN TURNER DEBUTS NEW BOOK

thick%20as%20thieves.JPG

TUESDAY, MAY 23; 7 PM

MEGAN WHALEN TURNER, author of the entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels, will introduce her newest work, Thick as Thieves. It features Kamet, a secretary and slave to his Mede master, who has the ambition and the means to become one of the most powerful people in the empire. But with a whispered warning, the future Kamet envisioned is wrenched away, and he is forced onto a very different path. This epic adventure sees an ordinary hero take on an extraordinary mission.

Before Kamet’s adventure begins, readers can satiate their thirst by discovering and rediscovering the stand-alone companion stories, The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. HARPER COLLINS

Thursday May 25
MOLLY CAMPBELL INTRODUCES HER NEW NOVEL

Molly%20Campbell%20photo.JPG

THURSDAY, MAY 25; 7 PM

MOLLY CAMPBELL will introduce her novel, Crossing the Street. In it, we meet Beck Throckmorton who finds herself living unexpectedly in a small suburban Ohio town with an 83 year old neighbor who has turned out to be her best friend, writing erotica and stewing over the fact that her ex has taken up with her sister. Enter a needy but wise little girl who finds a place in her heart and Beck finds herself “at an emotional intersection she never anticipated. And now it’s time to cross the street.” STORY PLANT

Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, says “Hilarious and full of heartwarming, familiar honesty, Molly’s latest was a joy to read.” Molly’s previous novel is Keeping the Ends Loose.