MARCH 2015 FEATURED AUTHOR EVENTS

Thursday Mar 5
KIDS AUTHOR/ ILLUSTRATOR TO VISIT

THURSDAY, MARCH 5; 6:30 PM

Children’s author and illustrator BARNEY SALTZBERG will present his new books for young children, Redbird: Color, Colors Everywhere! and Redbird: Friends Come in Different Sizes. These board books introduce us to Redbird. With his long orange beak, red body, and friendly expression, he calls to mind Dr. Seuss’s offbeat heroes and Boynton’s zany barnyard creatures, while embodying the author’s signature playful style. Saltzberg has written many books for young readers, including Beautiful Oops!, Arlo Needs Glasses, and A Little Bit of Oomph!, which combine his distinctive art, lively spirit and paper engineering that bring great joy to kids and grown-ups, alike. WORKMAN


Tuesday Mar 10
TED SANDERS INTRODUCES KIDS FANTASY NOVEL

TUESDAY, MARCH 10; 7 PM
TED SANDERS
will introduce The Keepers: The Box and The Dragonfly, the first book in his action-packed science fiction/fantasy middle-grade series. In it, he creates a world where everything is more than it seems and where friendship and loyalty have the greatest power of all. The book has numerous ties to time travel and the physics of objects: a lot of the magical type things in the book – like a dragonfly that moves so quickly that it allows one object to move through another (i.e. a person passing through a tree or the ground) – are theoretically possible. Of course, all of this is wrapped up in a fun, epic adventure. People are comparing it to the excitement they felt when they first read Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone. HARPER COLLINS

Wednesday Mar 18
PETER LERANGIS TO VISIT

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 18; 7 PM
PETER LERANGIS,
New York Times bestselling author of the Seven Wonders Series, will introduce Book 4, The Curse of the King . This fast-paced tween series about friends on a quest to unlock the secrets of the ancient world comes to life like a movie and is perfect for fans of Indiana Jones and Percy Jackson. Outnumbered and underequipped, Jack, Cass, and Aly have managed to defeat the Colossus of Rhodes, hunted through Ancient Babylon, and outfoxed legions of undead, but now they must figure out how to save themselves from a power that threatens to overwhelm them and destroy the world.

Peter Lerangis has written more than 165 books, which have sold over 5 ½ million copies and been translated into 35 languages. Among his books are four in the 39 Clues Series (The Sword Thief, The Viper’s Nest, Vespers Rising, and The Dead of Night). The other books in the Seven Wonders Series are: The Colossus Rises, Lost in Babylon, and The Tomb of Shadows. HARPER COLLINS

Wednesday Mar 25
AUTHOR OF BAM PRESIDENT'S PICK TO VISIT

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 25; 7 PM

GEORGE HODGMAN, veteran magazine and book editor, will discuss his memoir, Bettyville, in which he tells of his leaving a busy career in Manhattan to return home to Paris, Missouri to care for his aging mother who is suffering from dementia. While he feels unprepared to care for her at home, he can’t bring himself to put her in an institution. So begins their journey together; Betty, at once courageous, headstrong, and vulnerable, and George, trying to be the good prodigal son. Underpinning their relationship is the fact that Betty has not fully accepted the fact that George is gay and the difficulties he had growing up gay in rural America years earlier. It’s a “beautifully crafted story of secrets, silences and enduring love that is simultaneously hilarious and heartwarming. “

Bettyville has been chosen as Books-A-Million President’s Pick for March. Alison Bechdel raves, “As George and his mother come to terms with one another at the end of her days, the book begins to shimmer with something much more rare than love: a boundless, transcendent, and simple kindness.” VIKING

Saturday Mar 28
CHRIS GRABENSTEIN INTRODUCES NEW KIDS NOVEL

SATURDAY, MARCH 28; 1 PM
CHRIS GRABENSTEIN
, author of Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library will introduce his new book for young readers, The Island of Dr. Libris. Twelve-year-old Billy Gillfoyle is stuck spending the entire summer in an old lakeside cabin owned by the enigmatic Dr. Libris. There’s something odd about this place, maybe even a little spooky. Strangest of all is Dr. Libris’s dusty study, full of the wildest stories Billy’s ever read. And whenever Billy opens the books in the study, he’s sure he can hear strange sounds coming from the mysterious island in the middle of the lake. Are the characters in the stories calling him? Are they coming to life? RANDOM HOUSE

Chris Grabenstein is co-author with James Patterson of the #1 best-selling series Funny and Treasure Hunters. He’s a playwright, screen writer and improvisational comedian and he has also written for Jim Henson’s Muppets.

Saturday Mar 28
ANTIOCH WRITERS WORKSHOP PREVIEW

SUNDAY, MARCH 28; 2-3:30 PM

ANTIOCH WRITERS WORKSHOP INFORMATION SESSION. This year marks the 30th annual Summer Program presented by the Antioch Writers Workshop in Yellow Spring, Ohio. It promises a stellar faculty, inspiring programming, and exciting opportunities. Learn more about the program from board and staff members at this casual Q&A session today. For more information, please visit www.antiochwritersworkshop.com

Tuesday Mar 31
HAL MCCOY INTRODUCES HIS MEMOIR

TUESDAY, MARCH 31; 7 PM
(Line numbers beginning at 6 pm. Please show your receipt for The Real McCoy to
get a line number.)

Dayton’s own legendary sportswriter HAL MCCOY will discuss his memoir The Real McCoy, My Half-Century with the Cincinnati Reds. He gives the fans an inside-the-dugout look at what never made the daily press: the politics, the personalities, the hi-jinks, the x-rated scenes –all the classic ballpark happenings known only to those on the field. In short, it’s the complete scoop from a sportswriter who led a charmed life and, even when faced with his own failing eyesight, managed to keep his life intact and still see more than the rest of us. The Real McCoy is one of the most readable –and revealing—books about baseball ever written. ORANGE FRAZER